Unruly and reckless have been somewhat romanticized in our society. Celebrities who are arrested for driving recklessly use it to promote themselves, and drag racing is an often mythologized part of Americana.
In reality, Reckless driving accounts for 33% of accidents that result in death. This does not dissuade people from drinking and driving, racing, and trying to get places at a speed that is unsafe.
As you can imagine, young people are more likely to drive recklessly than their older counterparts. When a person causes a reckless driving accident, they are likely to face fines and license suspension. Reckless driving can result in devastating accidents, severe injuries, and death.
Definition of Reckless Driving
Reckless driving is defined as operating a motor vehicle in a manner that willfully or wantonly disregards safety because the driver shows a disregard for the consequences of their actions. Different states have different laws when it comes to driving recklessly.
Examples of Reckless Driving
Reckless driving is often a direct result of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. If you run red lights or go over the speed limit, a law enforcement officer may give you a ticket for reckless driving in addition to a ticket for speeding or running a red light.
You may also get a ticket for:
- Weaving in and out of traffic
- Not giving a turn signal when changing lanes
- Driving through barriers or construction sites
- Passing a school bus
- Passing an ambulance
Some states considered distracted driving to be a type of reckless driving. This would include texting or posting on social media when you are driving.
A reckless driver can cause a multi-car pile-up. Along with holding up traffic and damaging cars, the injuries resulting from such a crash can be devastating, and the financial costs can be enormous.
Reckless Driving Facts
- Speeding is the most common form of reckless driving.
- The state of New Jersey defines reckless driving as, “heedless, and willful or wanton disregard of the rights or safety of others, in a manner so as to endanger, or be likely to endanger, a person or property.”
- Reckless driving is said to be responsible for 33% of accidents in the United States.
Reckless Driving Law
You can get up to three months in jail for your first offense of reckless driving. You can also be fined between $50.00 and $200.00. A driver may be fined up to $500 for a second offense. Reckless driving is considered a traffic offense in Garden State.
Like any other car accident, reckless driving can cause injuries such as concussions, whiplash, internal bleeding, and the loss of life or limb. You would think that a driver would have to pay for the damage they caused if they were driving recklessly, but that is not always the case.
Insurance Laws in New Jersey
New Jersey is a no-fault state when it comes to auto insurance. A person is responsible for paying their accident-related bills, no matter who is at fault. The State requires a driver to buy personal injury protection of $15,000 for one person and $30,000 per accident.
If a driver hits a pedestrian, they will have to pay for their medical bills.
There are some exceptions to the no-fault rule. If someone is severely injured or disabled in an accident, they may be able to sue an at-fault driver.
There are certain bone fractures that will allow you to sue an at-fault party. If a pregnant woman loses a fetus during a New Jersey car accident, that woman may also be able to sue.
The attorneys at Goldstein & Goldstein have the know-how it takes to negotiate with insurance companies. We can get you a good deal without going to court if you have been injured in an accident. We have a hard-working staff that will research your case and do all they can to help you.